Africa / Mission Trips

Why I’m Going: Gary Penner, Missionary, Corporate Communicator

 

Garry Penner

 

God’s Word and His Spirit have led me to believe in Jesus the Christ as my personal Lord and Savior. Simply put, Jesus has taken the full blame and punishment for my sin, and I have taken the full pardon. I have received God’s grace. Believing this, and the resulting personal relationship of accountability to Jesus, assures me of eternal life with God. It is already mine, and He promises the same for others.

I believe that by taking risks to get outside of my own comfort zone, I can more easily talk to others about my faith. Mission work gives me a context in which I can more easily talk about my relationship with Jesus and how it has changed my life. I can talk more easily about the gift of grace. I believe there is no higher calling, and although I have considered it again and again throughout my life, I know I don’t have to be a pastor to do this. Jesus calls all of us to be missionaries everywhere we go.

“What joy this sweet sentence gives: I know that my Redeemer lives!”

To learn more about Lutheran Hour Ministries short-term mission opportunities please visit the International Volunteer Trips page.

One thought on “Why I’m Going: Gary Penner, Missionary, Corporate Communicator

  1. Pingback: Pastor Kevin Wendt, Missionary, Concordia Lutheran Church Pastor « LHM International Blog

Leave a Reply

