Africa / Mission Trips

Why I’m Going: Melanie Beck, Missionary Concordia Lutheran School, 2nd Grade Teacher

Melanie Beck

A famous Ethiopian proverb says, “Eat when the food is ready, speak when the time is right.”  For me, the time is right and the delicious aroma of a hot meal is wafting in my direction.  In conjunction, John 4:35 says, “Do you not say, ‘Four months more and then the harvest’? I tell you, open your eyes and look at the fields! They are ripe for harvest.” I have been called to venture out of my comfort zone and gather that harvest in the African country of Ethiopia.

This October a group from Concordia Church will be led to Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, to serve the Lord in a ‘glocal’ partnership. Some team members will focus on Muslim ministry; others on the HIV/AIDS epidemic. My focus will be on fostering and strengthening the relationships between the Mekane Yesus Lutheran School and Concordia Elementary School. Concordia students have a basic knowledge of the Mekane Yesus school, but our glocal team has more ambitious ideas that would benefit both educational entities and allow them to form more interactive relationships.

As an educator, I attempt to open my students’ eyes to the world around them. I tell them to do this, however, with Jesus-colored glasses. I want my students to comprehend that, as a Christian, each of us has a God-given mission to tell others about Christ and form relationships with other Christians.

My aspirations for our mission trip to Ethiopia are multifaceted. Ultimately, I aim to be an ambassador for Concordia Elementary School. I want to be the glue that holds two Lutheran schools together, spanning thousands of miles, cultural differences, and a plethora of other diversities. As a result, it is my prayer that the students of both schools will cultivate a greater interest, knowledge, and sense of community with their Lutheran brothers and sisters around the world.

To learn more about Lutheran Hour Ministries short-term mission opportunities please visit the International Volunteer Trips page.

One thought on “Why I’m Going: Melanie Beck, Missionary Concordia Lutheran School, 2nd Grade Teacher

  1. Pingback: Why I’m Going: Pastor Kevin Wendt, Missionary, Concordia Lutheran Church Pastor « LHM International Blog

Leave a Reply

